My Top Picks From Paris Haute Couture 2017 // Day 1

Discover what the future of fashion holds, as predicted by Proenza Shouler, Rodarte, Galia Lahav and Maison Rabih Kayrouz.

Hello beautiful people! Did any of you get the chance to attend Paris Haute Couture week? If so, you mustΒ have an unforgettable experience!

Although I said I’m interested in fashion, I find that I don’t know much at all. I don’t chase international fashion shows or watch the recorded videos online. I rarely purchase fashion magazines (I usually just browse online but I don’t do that often either) and I can only name a handful of designers.

For someone who claims to love fashion, that’s pretty embarrassing.Β Hence, I decided to make learning about fashion one of my priorities. I’m going to start by simply following local and international fashion events and then eventually educate myself on the history of fashion through reading.

Paris Haute Couture week ended last Thursday and I spent the following days getting to know the designers who presented on Day 1. I tend to gravitate towards unique, clean and modern styles and I selected pieces that I think would work in real life. Here are four designers whose creations tick all the boxes for me.

Proenza Schouler

1-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-f0b5ff3-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-0cb3f211-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-095fcd16-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-891ddd17-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-a6672f18-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-c1f66424-proenza-schouler-ss18-high-res-759777

Key trends from Proenza Schouler: Ruffles, monochrome palette, high slits, nude/blush, lace, structured coats, slip on sandals, pops of red, statement earrings and bracelets.

Rodarte

*The gorgeous lemon sheer dress in the feature photo is also from Rodarte*

rod-lb-ss18-008-e1211drod-lb-ss18-011-1dd3a4rod-lb-ss18-012-249593rod-lb-ss18-014-376888rod-lb-ss18-024-b95e7erod-lb-ss18-029-1193bbrod-lb-ss18-036-638f5frod-lb-ss18-039-a10760rod-lb-ss18-047-59f715

Key trends from Rodarte: Sheer fabric, ruffles, lace, bow belts, monochrome, ballerina heels, floral crowns, pops of red and blush, bell sleeves and asymmetric cuts.

Galia Lahav

GL 1GL 2GL 3GL 4GL 5GL 6GL 7GL 8GL 9

Key trends from Galia Lahav: Japanese obi belt, sheer, leather, off the shoulder, shades of red, blue, black, white and silver.

Maison Rabih Kayrouz

810820830840850860

Key trends from Maison Rabih Kayrouz: metallic, denim, structured cuts and balloon sleeves

*Photos sourced from TAGWALK, Vogue UK and WWD*

Who’s your favorite on Day 1?

 

108162249561482019434

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/portfolio

1 thought on “My Top Picks From Paris Haute Couture 2017 // Day 1”

Leave a Reply

