What’s [Unusually] Hot? #052017

In this new monthly series, I explore trends beyond the industries I’m familiar with.

One day while I was home alone browsing through fashion blogs, I had an idea to put together a WHAT’S HOT post every month. I thought it would be beneficial as I’ll be able to stay on top of trends that stem from the industries I’m interested in (i.e. beauty, fashion, health and lifestyle).

I still think it’s a good idea as I’m writing this until it occurred to me that I do catch up with trends when I’m on social media. I guess I was just having one of those I-don’t-think-I-know-enough moments…

Then I thought to myself: wouldn’t it be interesting to discover the trends outside the industries I’m familiar with? Hence, I’ve decided to start the What’s [Unusually] Hot series. Every month, I’ll seek out things that are trending or topics that are currently being discussed in different countries.

To include all of the trends is not only tedious but will make you zone out faster than when you’re in a lecture. Therefore, what you read here has been selectively chosen by me.

Note: The following trends appear in no particular order.

 

Ebay

1. Gakken Kits

Gakken Holdings was established in Japan during the 1940s. Its initial focus was on publishing educational books and magazines but it soon expanded to include the development of teaching materials and tools for preschools, kindergartens and high schools during the 1970s.

Edison Wax Candle Cylinder Phonograph Kit

1812-03.jpg
Edo-Style Clock Kit

The Pinhole Planetarium Kit

I’ve never heard of this company before but my God, these are cool! I miss those days when children and adults would look forward to hands-on projects during their free time instead of being smitten to an electronic device.

2. Chandeliers

Things I admire or would get when I own a house…

epiphanots.com
Epiphanots.com
4739565_zaha-hadids-almost-aquatic-led-chandeliers_72e5a2a8_l
Zaha Hadid’s almost aquatic LED chandelier
pinterest_scandanavian
Pinterest

3. Fidget toys

4. Levi’s

Strangely enough I don’t own a pair of Levi’s jeans. These are the styles I hope to get my hands on in the future.

501 skinny jeans OLD HANGOUTS
501 Skinny Jeans OLD HANGOUTS
501 straight cut LONESOME ROAD
501 Straight Cut LONESOME ROAD

5. Baby Groot

I squeal whenever Baby Groot appears on screen.Β I can understand why sales has spiked for this little one.

Guardians-of-the-Galaxy-Tree-People-Groot-Stuffed-Plush-Toys-8-20-cm-Plush-Doll-With

Amazon

6. Lies of a Real Housewife: Tell the Truth and Shame the Devil by Angela Stanton

51i+lx3x04L

7. The Islamic Enlightenment: The Struggle Between Faith and Reason, 1798 to Modern Times by Christopher de Bellaigue

IslamicEnlightenment_978-0-87140-373-5

8. The Cancer Revolution: A Groundbreaking Program to Reverse and Prevent Cancer by Leigh Erin Connealy

41qR1AYHk9L

9. Canon T6 EOS Rebel DSLR Camera

EOS Rebel T6

10. Nikon D3400 DSLR Camera

Nikon D3400 DSLR

11. XJW Mini Remote Control

31PgGIljksL
It may look like a clothes hook but it’s actually a hidden spy camera which allows you to see what’s happening when you’re not at home or at the office.

Google [Trending Searches]

U.S.

12. French election

13. Alien: Covenant

new-alien-covenant-images-what-they-tell-us-about-plot-35

14. Princess Diana

15. 13 Reasons Why Season 2Β 

Australia

16.Β Masterchef Australia 2017

369A9D5B00000578-0-image-a-75_1469802856823
Daily Mail

17. MotoGP

18. NAPLAN

Malaysia

19. Liverpool

nintchdbpict000300972098-e1486839629102
The Sun

20. Cabotage policyΒ 

U.K.

21. Banksy

59102cd1c4618881218b459e

I hope you enjoyed the first of What’s [Unusually] Hot series. Catch you soon!

108162249561482019434

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/portfolio

Leave a Reply

