My Top 5 Movie Recommendations

Need ideas on what to watch during your down time? I got you covered.

Hello all! I hope you’re having a good week so far 🙂

R and I spend most of our weekends watching movies or Netflix. It’s something we both enjoy doing when we stay in. That said, we’ve seen some really good ones and had our fair share of terrible films.

Here are 5 of my favorite movies and if you have no plans for tonight, why not watch one of these?

movie_1

“Now you’re looking for the secret. But you won’t find it because of course, you’re not really looking. You don’t really want to work it out. You want to be fooled.”

The Prestige (2006)

Director: Christopher Nolan

Genre: Drama, Mystery, Sci-fi

Starring: Christian Bale, Hugh Jackman, Scarlett Johansson

Christopher Nolan has directed a number of great films over the years, some of which include Interstellar, Inception and The Dark Knight Rises. This film is adapted from Christopher Priest’s 1995 World Fantasy Award-winning novel of the same name.

The Prestige tells the story of two talented magicians who compete against each other to create the best stage illusion. You’ll not only be entertained with amazing illusion tricks, but also witness how obsession and deception could lead to fame and destruction.

This film is filled with unexpected twists and if you like to be surprised, this one is for you.

movie_2

“Your Plan depended on other people. People suck, and they’ll disappoint you every time.”

Tallulah (2016)

Director: Sian Heder

Genre: Drama

Starring: Ellen Page, Allison Janney, Tammy Blanchard

R and I came across this while we were searching for something to watch on Netflix. We decided to watch Tallulah simply because Ellen Page is in it and we both have a crush on her.

Tallulah follows the life of a young drifter, Lu, who travels around America in a van with her boyfriend, Nico. With no stable source of income, they steal to survive. Eventually, Nico decides to leave because he can’t cope with Lu’s lifestyle. Lu drives to New York City expecting to find Nico at his mother’s place but Lu is told that Nico hasn’t been home in 2 years and is asked to leave. With nowhere to go, Lu steals from guests at a nearby hotel. Lu’s life is turned upside down when she meets an intoxicated mother who entrusts her toddler to her after she mistook Lu as housekeeping staff…

This film explores the dichotomy between living freely and conforming to social norms as well as topics on relationships, attachment and extramarital affairs. Watch it and tell me what you think about the ending!

movie_3

“You can’t learn anything when you’re talking. That’s a fact of life. As long as you’re talking, you’re not listening.”

Creed (2015)

Director: Ryan Coogler

Genre: Drama, Sport

Starring: Michael B. Jordan, Sylvester Stallone, Tessa Thompson

Creed is a spin-off and sequel to the Rocky film series, starring Michael B. Jordan as Adonis Johnson Creed (Apollo Creed’s son) and Sylvester Stallone as Rocky Balboa.

I’m not a huge fan of sport movies but there’s something about the relationship between the coach and the student that makes me come back for more. Maybe because it reminds me of the relationship I once had with a teacher I highly admire. The first sport movie I watched was Million Dollar Baby (the ending broke me into pieces) and it really inspired me to set my eyes on the goal and never give up.

Creed explores the main character’s inner conflict to follow his father’s footsteps and make a name for himself. Throughout the movie, you’ll get your dose of good soundtrack and awesome boxing moves. The movie also highlights the idea that everyone has their own battles to fight in their everyday lives. It’s how you approach your nemesis that determines whether you win or lose…

movie_4

“They say you only really appreciate a garden once you reach a certain age, and I suppose there is a truth in that. It’s probably something to do with the great circle of life. There seems to be something miraculous about seeing the relentless optimism of new growth after the bleakness of winter, a kind of joy in the difference every year, the way nature chooses to show off different parts of the garden to its full advantage.”

Me Before You (2016)

Director: Thea Sharrock

Genre: Drama, Romance

Starring: Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Janet McTeer

If you ask me to pick a movie to watch on a weekend, I’d go for action/sci-fi/crime/horror (when I’m feeling adventurous) more than anything else. Romantic films aren’t my favorite because they’re either too predictable or just down right cringe worthy.

I came across Me Before You on my flight back to Melbourne and I watched snippets of it before the plane landed. I’m the type of person who will finish a movie (no matter what) if I think it’s worth watching or the actors who play the main characters are highly attractive. In this case, it’s the latter (Don’t judge, I’m sure some of you do that too. Or maybe it’s just me…). Turns out, it wasn’t predictable and I cried my eyes out.

This film is about a small town girl (Lou) who takes up the challenge to care for a paralyzed man (Will) after she lost her job at a cafe. As Will starts to open up, Lou begins to understand his attitude towards her and life in general. Lou dedicates her time to Will in an attempt to show him that he can live a fulfilling life even though he’s disabled. But nothing, not even the girl who makes him laugh again, can change his mind on THE decision.

The major themes you’ll encounter in Me Before You are dreams and hopes, exploration and disappointment. The movie also made me think about how fragile the human body is and how often I seem to take advantage of my perfectly able body.

P.S. Lou’s outfits are amazing!

movie_5

“Not many Frenchmen like German tacticians. It only took them two weeks to take over your entire country.”

The Siege of Jadotville (2016)

Director: Richie Smyth

Genre: Action, Drama, Thriller

Starring: Jamie Dornan, Jason O’Mara, Mark Strong

The Siege of Jadotville depicts the 1961 siege of a 150 strong Irish UN battalion by 3000 Congolese troops led by French and Belgian mercenaries working for the mining companies. Commander Patrick Quinlan is the leader of the Irish UN battalion and he’s my favorite character. Even though he has never been in a real fight before, the Commander demonstrates himself to be a level-headed leader. There were moments when I was thinking “OH NO! YOU’LL ALL DIE!!” but I was surprised time and time again. You’ll get a whole lot of suspense and frustration but all of that will be counteracted by the ending. I promise.

I hope you like these suggestions and if you prefer to read a book during your chill time, I have some suggestions for you as well so watch this space!

 

108162249561482019434

 

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/landing

1 thought on “My Top 5 Movie Recommendations”

Leave a Reply

