The {Other} Interestings #3

It’s been awhile but here are some interesting/informational links for your mid-day reading pleasure. Enjoy!

Happy Wednesday! I hope you’re still making positive changes and working towards your 2017 resolutions. If you’ve been off track, I encourage you to set aside some time to reflect on it. Is it because the goals you set are too ambitious? Or is it because you’ve underestimated how busy you’ll be at the start of 2017?

Whatever the reasons, know that this doesn’t indicate uselessness or failure. Take a step back, spend time exploring what works for you, make mistakes and repeat. The key thing to remember here is that you’re a unique individual and only certain methods or steps allow you to achieve growth and success.

So get to know yourself and you do you! Here are some tips to get you started:

  • Don’t follow everything you see online to a T. They are only there for reference or inspiration.
  • Don’t follow your friends’ or family’s advises if they don’t work for you. Listen with an open mind but only take what works for you.
  • Celebrities aren’t always right.
  • Keep exploring and be consistent. A good way to do this is by writing notes in your journal or in your electronic device so you have a reference to look back on. This enables you to assess your situation and make adjustments when needed.
  • Learn to be patient. This is probably the most important thing to take note of. Without patience, you’ll be more likely to abandon your goals before any positive change can take place. Without patience, it’s unlikely that you’d experience satisfaction and growth.

pexels-photo-132922

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll know that I’ve joined the bullet journaling crew. It not only allows me to express my creativity, but it also makes me look at the big picture and stick with the goals I set for myself.

I decided to give bullet journaling a go after watching Rachel Nguyen’s video. While I did follow most of her methods, I included a monthly review section just because I feel that it helps me realize what needs to be improved on. In January, I managed to hit most goals but I also need to work on incorporating 3-4 running sessions per week, focus on job applications and decluttering my studio.

Anyway, time for the good stuff! I’ve rounded up some fascinating/informational links for your hump day reading pleasure:

  1. It’s no surprise that the information provided by the media remains highly influential. Just be careful about the quality of health advises provided by health and lifestyle magazines. In this case, Dolly beats the rest.
  2. Whether you realize this or not, Instagram is changing the way we eat and what we eat as well.
  3. I really like this series of photographs by Chris Crisman. These working women are kicking ass in their respective jobs.
  4.  Bachelor parties are the best right? I bet men enjoy them very much. According to Broadly, there’s more to them and they don’t always bring good memories.
  5. This one is for you girls who are obsessed with advent calendars. I really think they should be available all year round!
  6. What factors do you think will influence your shopping decisions? Find out here.
  7. If you’re a recent graduate and you don’t have connections with experts in the field you’re interested in, try cold calling and ask for an informational interview.
  8. Don’t know why your legs turn into jelly every time you walk past a pastry store? It all comes down to a series of chemical reactions known as the Maillard reactions.
  9. This great article by Darling gave me some insights on how to find the 25th hour in my day. Very inspiring!
  10. Learn more about how the collaboration between the University of Melbourne and Rubicon can help improve food sustainability and save water in the future.

pexels-photo-24897

Before I sign off, I want you remind you to seize the day and make it yours. Take care!

 

108162249561482019434

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/landing

Leave a Reply

