The State of Gold

My taste in jewelry has certainly changed as I go through different stages of life. Take a walk down memory lane with me and discover the pieces that I’ve selected for my future collection.

7 – 10 m

The first jewelry I wore was simple. It is a gold anklet with a tiny bell attached near the clasp. My mum told me I had it on when I was just learning how to crawl.

The bell emits a pleasant jingle everywhere I went. I guess that was one method of keeping track of my whereabouts.

7 – 15 y

I got my ears pierced at a stuffy jewelry store in my hometown. It was painful and I had tears in my eyes. I hated the piercing gun.

My mum introduced me to her collection of gold jewelry. I didn’t understand the significance they have for her at the time. I remember I love looking at them and trying them on. I always end up disappointed because nothing fits me.

The only “jewelry” I own back then were rainbow colored plastic rings, beaded necklaces, wooden bracelets and cheap custom jewelry.

I got a second piercing on my right ear and I still hate the piercing gun.

jade-necklace-in-blackbrown971845_foxy-orginals
My mum (spontaneously) bought me two necklaces from Foxy Originals. This was one of them: Jade Necklace in blackbrown

17 – 22 y

I love stacking bracelets, rings and necklaces. My approach was ‘the more the merrier’.

I stop by a custom jewelry store whenever I’m out shopping. I pick things out, try them on and put them back. I always wish I have enough money to buy everything in the store.

Occasionally my mum would treat me to a piece of jewelry (or more depending on her mood).

My friends and family members know. I guess that’s why I get jewelries as gift during birthdays or after someone has been overseas.

After I graduated high school, I decided to reward myself with a nose piercing. The process was surely not rewarding.

23 – 24 y

When Lovisa is having a sale, you’ll find me there.

I begin to appreciate fine jewelry. You also won’t find me stacking bracelets and necklaces anymore (but once in a blue moon, I still do).

I fell in love with nature’s stone. Also known as crystals.

25 y

I no longer shop for custom jewelry. I hate that they don’t last and it’s just a waste of money. I’ll invest in the real deal instead.

So what would I have in my “future collection”?

1_baublebar

2_baublebar
An ornate bib with brushed gold leaf and deep red stones, this vintage confection is a bold take on a structured statement necklace.

 

5

6
A delicate gold strand with asymmetrical crystal embellishment.

7

These are the things I’d buy and wear when I have the means. That is why I called it the “future collection”. You’ll get a second peek soon enough. Until then, have a great weekend!

 

Like what you see? Here are the links I cited in this post:

https://www.baublebar.com/

http://shopesqueleto.com/

https://byboe.com/

108162249561482019434

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/landing

Leave a Reply

