Hunting For The One

photo-1466386460451-cbc548bf581b

My love for lifestyle magazines started when I was around ten. I always make a beeline to the bookstore after my piano lesson so that I could catch up on the latest celebrity gossips, fashion trends and makeup tips.

As I got older, I lost interest in celebrity gossips. Mainly because they are mostly fabricated, they don’t add value to my life or inspire me.

Sometime around April, I’ve decided to go on a mission to ‘hunt’ down the magazine that has the following criteria:

  • Educate me
  • Inspire me to step out of my comfort zone
  • More content, less advertisements (none is better!)
  • Inspire me to create and be creative
  • Challenge my perceptions
  • Inspire me to fight for what I believe in
  • Encourage me to think outside of the box
  • Consists of fashion and beauty elements

So far, The Collective Hub and RUSSH are both great in my opinion. But there are many more out there waiting for me to explore. It’s still too early to tell which lucky magazine will earn a new subscriber.

Anyway, I came across an excerpt in RUSSH that explores the idea of social identity and self-expression in the world of music and I really like this paragraph:

“Surely so many of you out there can relate? The masks we wear are our clothes and our hairstyles and our voices; it is how we are judged. If we have to accept being judged on appearance, it’s only fair to make it playful, to make it considered – a creative act. We are presented with myriad opportunities to reinvent ourselves, even in the smallest of ways. It is an awesome power, especially if it allows a part of you to be revealed that would otherwise lie unexpressed. Perhaps the costumes we wear are not to hide our true selves and natures from the world, but are a way to more fully express them; a way to communicate our ideas and preoccupations with a world that does not often have time to listen to the quiet voices of people who are shy, or speak softly, or lack an innate confidence to launch themselves headlong into a very noisy world.”

Words by Miranda Darling

Whoever you are today, just remember to be awesome.

P.S. If you know any great magazines, please recommend! I’d love to check them out. x

 

Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/portfolio

2 thoughts on “Hunting For The One”

Leave a Reply

