Les Nourritures // Food #092016

Before I start university in Melbourne, I’ve never cooked a meal for myself, my family or my friends. At 20, I can boil eggs, make instant noodles and prepare my own breakfast (which consists of two slices of bread and a cup of hot chocolate).

You can imagine how scared my parents were when they realized that their daughter will be living alone and have to cook her own meals because eating out every day is just too expensive. They told me to take it easy and said if I can’t figure out how to cook, I should just eat out until I learn to do so.

A few hours after they boarded the plane, I managed to make myself a decent dinner – a bowl of white rice with some stir fry vegetables and chicken. My parents were very surprised and proud as heck. For the next few months, I continue to cook my own meals and I think I did pretty well. The only issue I had was that most things were under cooked. No food poisoning was involved though. All those years of observing my mum cooking in the kitchen paid off!

156468_10151510210687931_1849200822_n
My first home cooked meal.

Since then, I’ve been documenting my meals on Facebook under the album called “Cooking up a Storm – A Newbie’s Version”. The meals I make are simple and I put in whatever ingredients that I think would work. I rarely follow recipes but when I do, it is usually because I am cooking for R.

Since I met R, we’ve been doing a lot of cooking and baking together. I remember I was really impressed when he told me he could make bread from scratch. I later found out that he knows how to make ice cream (!!!) and pancakes as well (he is THE ONE)! Not that any of these things are hard to make, but I grew up in a family where women do all the cooking. So to learn that R could make things from scratch just left me in awe.

Now that I have a blog, I will share the meals I had or made on this platform. Otherwise, they’ll be on Instagram. Let’s get started, shall we?

img_20160901_194313_hdr1
I like to have small portions of different things for dinner. {Fruits, stir fry flat noodles with cauliflower, strawberries and peanut butter toast, sauerkraut and mustard on toast}.
img_20160911_152631_hdr1
New Jersey Burger from New York Minute. {Really really good but the portion size is too huge for me}
img_20160916_213026_hdr1
Home made turmeric “latte” (I use soy milk as a substitute).
img_20160917_141210_hdr1
R organized a BBQ party to celebrate Mexico’s Independence Day. We (with 3 other friends) had Spanish sausages, ribs, mushrooms and capsicums filled with blue cheese. Yum!
img_20160917_151802_hdr1
J (R’s high school friend) brought back some candy from Mexico! They were all a mix of spicy, sweet and sour. I love them!
img_20160920_204618_hdr1
I don’t know about you but I can have oatmeal for breakfast, lunch and dinner. {Berry oatmeal with warm soy milk and muesli for some extra crunch}.
img_20160921_204848_hdr1
Brown rice topped with stir fry string beans and avocado. Papaya as a side dish.
img_20160927_082529_hdr1
What do you do when you run out of milk in the morning? I cook my oatmeal in water and stir in two tablespoons of chocolate powder and add a pinch of cinnamon. I always top my oatmeal with some variety of nuts and fruits. Sometimes I’ll add some raisins and coconut shreds.
img_20160927_133437_hdr1
Monday meal prep! {red cabbage, broccoli, carrots, chicken breasts, tomatoes, chopped almonds, black pepper and herbs}
img_20160927_140803_hdr1
I made two huge batch of salad for the week (lunch). One with balsamic vinegar dressing and the other with spicy Miso dressing. I really like the latter. Will definitely make more in the future!
Author: Keeping Up With Curiosity

Professional Styling Academy Graduate - From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Love to Cook, Explore and of course Eat - Believe in the Power of Positive thinking - Learning to embrace a Minimal and Simple life - https://suminchan23.wixsite.com/landing

2 thoughts on “Les Nourritures // Food #092016”

Leave a Reply

